deutsch  english
  The Project Roland Fuhrmann Kateřina Šedá Schiffers & Sprenger review 07 & 08 Press Imprint/Directions  


Kateřina Šedá
THE GHOST OF UHYST

A collaborative project by Kateřina Šedá and the residents of Uhyst with a
photo documentation by: Michal Hladík

This project is generously supported by
Galleria Franco Soffiantino www.francosoffiantino.it

Location: The village Uhyst at Lake Bärwald

"Every village, every small town, is a unique organism", writes Czech artist Kateřina Šedá, "a mysterious personality, and one that changes constantly. Its inner energy is shaped by all of its residents, and tends to elude the fleeting glance. The spirit of a place is a difficult-to-grasp something, and yet many people will swear they have caught sight of it, or felt it in their bones. But what does it look like? And how might it be possible to draw out an at least approximate portrait of a village from its innermost depths?" That is precisely Šedá's aim here in Uhyst.

Kateřina Šedá is fascinated by villages, by their special atmosphere, by their inhabitants. But she does not contemplate rural reality with the eye of an inquisitive city dweller, nor with that of a folklorist. Coming herself from a small town in Moravia, she experiences such microcosms as very much her own. For many artists, issues related to identity and origin - whether ethnic, cultural or otherwise - function as decisive engines of their creative activities. Such art works go far beyond narcissistic navel gazing, for many viewers can identify with the search for one's roots and one's own cultural conditioning. And this is what accounts for the power and the credibility of such artistic projects.

Already as an art student in Prague, Kateřina Šedá mobilized the tiny locale of Ponětovice for a spectacular action, one that made this village known throughout the Czech Republic and beyond. She had noticed that whenever residents were asked what made their hometown special, they answered: "There's nothing there" ("Nic tam není"). She wanted to change this. She assigned each resident a strictly planned-out set of instructions for his or her behavior, and these had to be adhered to collectively according to a precise schedule. Now, everyone would go shopping, carrying their purchases home in clear plastic bags; now everyone would sweep the walks in front of their houses in unison. For uninitiated visitors, all of this resembled some sort of rural ballet or theater piece. In fact, the neighbors of Ponětovice were actors in a performance, one that was enjoyable, indisputably special, and which generated a sense of community. Today, when asked about their village, they mention that several years ago they appeared on television for the art action "Nic tam není" - and everyone in the Czech Republic knows immediately what they are talking about.

Several years later, Kateřina Šedá's own hometown of Líšeň became the setting for an art project. "Over and Over" deals with the fences and barriers that are erected with such dedication in villages all around the world. How can one get around such private enclosures, what is the shortest path from point A to B in a given village? For her action, the artist climbed over circa 80 fences, establishing her own shortcuts. Finally, she reconstructed all of the fenced-in areas and walls segments, including all of the equipment found in their surroundings, at the 5th Berlin Biennale. Set up in a circle like a little castle, these dividing walls symbolize the human need for separation from neighbors, but at the same time the fixed cohesion of a rural commune.

With Uhyst, Kateřina Šedá works for the first time with a community outside of the Czech Republic. She perceives parallels between the two, but also differences. The "Ghost of Uhyst" will be finalized by all of the town's residents. She goes from house to house, and has each resident use a single line to depict (in each case with a different drawing device) that which he or she regards as being special about the village. The result of this procedure is a large-scale collective drawing, one that will be ultimately signed by all contributors. At least initially, this sounds rather abstract, but is meant to be entertaining and to generate a sense of belonging. As in Ponětovice in 2005, this action is not unlike a sort of game. Kateřina Šedá is the director of the action as a whole, and prescribes the rules. But no one can the process will produce - there are too many different perspectives from which the inhabitants may perceive their hometown. Finally, the Ghost of Uhyst, in all of its shimmering colors, will be fixed on a postcard, one that can be mailed anywhere in the world. A sense of belonging and of home, one that is as a rule difficult to express in words, is now translated into a collective artwork. Nor will Uhyst forget about this event anytime soon.


B i o g r a p h y

1977 born in Brno, lives and works in Brno - Líšeň and Prague

1995 - 1999 School of Applied Arts, Brno

1999 - 2005 Academy of Fine Arts, Prague (with professor Vladimír Kokolia)

S o l o   E x h i b i t i o n s (selected)
2008 1+1+1 =3, Culturgest, Lisbon (with Robert MacPherson and Manfred Pernice)

2008 Kateřina Šedá (Colocation n. 4), La box, Bourges, France

2008 Kateřina Šedá, The Renaissance Society, Chicago

2007 Kateřina Šedá, Galerie in Taxispalais, Innsbruck, Austria

2007 Synonyma, Index, and tranzit collaboration: Kateřina Šedá, Index, Stockholm, Sweden, (with Fritz Quasthoff)

2006 Arrivals > Czech Republic, Modern Art Oxford, Oxford, Great Britain

G r o u p   E x h i b i t i o n s (selected)
2009 Younger than Jesus, New Museum, New York

2009 Try to make a simple gesture, no matter how small!, Trafo Gallery, Budapest

2008 Manifesta 7, Bolzano, Italy

2008 Social Diagrams, Künstlerhaus Stuttgart, Germany

2008 5th Berlin Biennial, Berlin, Germany

2008 For Every Dog A Different Master, Konsthalle in Gavle, Sweden

2007 Documenta 12, Aue Pavillon, Kassel, Germany

 

 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
 

alle Bilder: Der Geist von Uhyst
 

Kateřina Šedá, Over And Over, 2008, action (Installation im Skulpurenpark, Berlin -- 5. Berlin Biennial), Foto Tomki Němec

deutsch  english
  Projektinformation Roland Fuhrmann Kateřina Šedá Schiffers & Sprenger Rückblick 07 & 08 Presse Impressum/Anfahrt  


Kateřina Šedá
DER GEIST VON UHYST

Ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt von Kateřina Šedá und den Einwohnern von Uhyst
fotografische Begleitung: Michal Hladík

Dieses Projekt wird ermöglicht durch die großzügige Unterstützung der
Galleria Franco Soffiantino www.francosoffiantino.it

Ort: Uhyst am Bärwalder See

"Jedes Dorf, jede Kleinstadt ist ein besonderer Organismus", schreibt die tschechische Künstlerin Kateřina Šedá, "eine geheimnisvolle Persönlichkeit, die sich unablässig wandelt. Seine innere Energie wird von allen Einwohnern bestimmt und lässt sich schwerlich in einem flüchtigen Blick erfassen. Der Geist eines Ortes ist ein schwer zu fassendes Etwas, und doch könnten viele Leute schwören, dass sie ihn schon einmal zu Gesicht bekommen oder gar körperlich gespürt haben. Wie sieht er jedoch aus? Wie kann man aus dem Innersten des Dorfes wenigstens andeutungsweise dessen Porträt zu Tage fördern?" Genau das ist das Ziel der tschechischen Künstlerin hier in Uhyst.

Kateřina Šedá ist von Dörfern, ihrer besonderen Atmosphäre und ihren Bewohnern fasziniert. Allerdings blickt sie nicht mit den Augen einer neugierigen Großstädterin auf das ländliche Treiben oder gar wie eine Volkskundlerin. Da sie selbst aus einem kleinen Dorf in Mähren stammt, begreift sie solche Mikrokosmen als ihr ureigenstes Revier. Für viele Künstler ist Problem ihrer Identität oder Herkunft, ob ethnisch, kulturell oder anderweitig speziell, ein erheblicher Motor ihres Schaffens. Kunstwerke dieser Art gehen weit über eine persönliche Nabelschau hinaus, denn in dieser Suche nach eigenen Wurzeln und Prägungen können sich viele Kunstbetrachter auch selbst wiederfinden. Das macht die große Stärke und Glaubhaftigkeit von derartigen Kunstprojekten aus.

Bereits als Kunststudentin in Prag mobilisierte Kateřina Šedá den kleinen Ort Ponětovice für eine spektakuläre Aktion, die dieses Dorf in ganz Tschechien und darüber hinaus bekannt machte. Ihr war aufgefallen, dass, wann immer ein Bewohner gefragt wurde, was denn das Besondere an dem Ort wäre, die Antwort kam: "Dort gibt es nichts." ("Nic tam není") Das wollte sie ändern und verordnete allen Bewohnern streng geplante Handlungsanweisungen, die diese nach einem genauen Zeitplan zu kollektiv befolgen hatten: Mal gingen alle gleichzeitig zum Laden und trugen ihre Einkäufe in durchsichtigen Tüten heim, dann wieder alle fegten unisono den Gehsteig vor ihren Häusern. Für nicht eingeweihte Besucher sah dies wie eine Art ländliches Ballett oder Theaterstück aus. Tatsächlich waren die Nachbarn von Ponětovice Akteure in einer Performance, die Spaß machte, etwas unbestritten Besonderes war und ein gewisses Gemeinschaftsgefühl auslöste. Wenn sie heute nach ihrem Dorf gefragt und sagen, dass es vor einigen Jahren wegen der Kunstaktion "Nic tam není" sogar im Fernsehen war, dann weiß jeder Tscheche sofort Bescheid.

Einige Zeit später wurde Kateřina Šedás eigener Heimatort Líšeň zum Schauplatz eines Kunstprojekts von. Bei "Over and Over" ging es um Zäune und Absperrungen, die überall auf der Welt in Dörfern mit viel Hingabe errichtet werden. Wie kann man diese privaten Einfriedungen einfach umgehen, was ist der kürzeste Weg von A nach B im Dorf? Die Künstlerin überstieg dort etwa 80 Zäune und schuf ihre eigenen Abkürzungen. Dann baute sie die betreffenden Zaunsfelder und Mauersegmente einschließlich aller im Umfeld befindlichen Gerätschaften auf der 5. Berlin Biennale auf. Wie eine kleine Burg im Kreis aufgestellt, symbolisierten diese Trennwände sowohl das menschliche Bedürfnis, sich voneinander abzugrenzen, aber zugleich auch den festen Zusammenhalt einer ländlichen Kommune.

In Uhyst arbeitet Kateřina Šedá das erste Mal in einer Gemeinde außerhalb Tschechiens; sie sieht Parallelen, aber auch Unterschiede. Der "Geist von Uhyst" soll von allen Bewohner gemeinsam dingfest gemacht werden. Dazu geht sie von Haus zu Haus und lässt sich mit nur einem Strich pro Person (und mit jeweils einem anderen Zeichengerät aufmalen), was für den Betreffenden das Besondere des Dorfes ausmacht. Auf diese Weise entsteht eine große Kollektivzeichnung, die alle , die mitgewirkt haben, am Schluss signieren. Das klingt zunächst abstrakt, soll aber auch unterhaltsam sein und Zusammengehörigkeit fühlbar machen. Wie 2005 in Ponětovice, hat auch diese Aktion etwas mit einem Spiel zu tun. Kateřina Šedá ist die Regisseurin des Ganzen und gibt die Regeln vor. Was allerdings im Rahmen dieser Regeln passiert, ist unvorhersehbar - dafür gibt es viel zu viele verschiedene Blickwinkel, aus denen die hier Ansässigen ihren Ort wahrnehmen. Zum Schluß wird dieser in allen Farben schillernde Geist von Uhyst auf eine Postkarte gebannt, kann in alle Himmelsrichtungen verschickt werden: Heimatgefühl, das sich normalerweise schwer in Worte fassen lässt, wurde in ein Gemeinschaftswerk übersetzt. Daran werden sich die Uhyster noch lange erinnern.


B i o g r a p h i e

1977 geboren in Brno, lebt und arbeitet in Brno - Líšeň und Prag

1995 - 1999 Hochschule für Angewandte Künste Brno

1999 - 2005 Kunstakademie Prag (bei Vladimír Kokolia)

E i n z e l a u s s t e l l u n g e n (Auswahl)
2008 1+1+1 =3, Culturgest, Lissabon (mit Robert MacPherson und Manfred Pernice)

2008 Kateřina Šedá (Colocation n. 4), La box, Bourges

2008 Kateřina Šedá, The Renaissance Society, Chicago

2007 Kateřina Šedá, Galerie in Taxispalais, Innsbruck

2007 Synonyma, Index, and tranzit collaboration: Kateřina Šedá, Index, Stockholm (mit Fritz Quasthoff)

2006 Arrivals > Czech Republic, Modern Art Oxford, Oxford

G r u p p e n a u s s t e l l u n g e n (Auswahl)
2009 Younger than Jesus, New Museum, New York

2009 Try to make a simple gesture, no matter how small!, Trafo Gallery, Budapest

2008 Manifesta 7, Bozen

2008 Social Diagrams, Künstlerhaus Stuttgart

2008 5th Berlin Biennial, Berlin

2008 For Every Dog A Different Master, Konsthalle Gavle, Schweden

2007 Documenta 12, Aue Pavillon, Kassel

 

 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
     
 
 

alle Bilder: Der Geist von Uhyst
 

Kateřina Šedá, Over And Over, 2008, action (Installation im Skulpurenpark, Berlin -- 5. Berlin Biennial), Foto Tomki Němec