deutsch  english
  The Project Juliane Köhler Stefan Schröder   Kunstparcours/transNATURALE Imprint Directions  


HANDLUNGSSPIELRAUM

A piece by Stefan Schröder for the Bärwalder See lake

What can be added to a landscape as magnificent as that of the Bärwalder See lake? Any artist developing a creative statement for this site must ask him/herself this question - including Stefan Schröder, whose answer was to have nothing to do with a direct reaction to the overwhelming scale of the landscape left behind by decades of opencast lignite mining in the middle of the Lusatian countryside. With this in mind, the artist focussed conceptually on the events that have been shaping the lives and surroundings of local residents at least since mining began in the 1970s. He called his piece "Handlungsspielraum" (scope for action), clearly referring to limitations in this scope: for residents who have had to accept far-reaching changes to the place where they live, and to whom the end of lignite mining has given back a certain freedom of action.

Rather than making a monumental statement, Schröder´s series of bar-shaped concrete objects is concealed along the banks of the lake, marking a sequence of sites to be discovered deliberately or by chance. The reception of this art work thus necessarily takes the form of a quasi archaeological expedition full of surprises. And as in the case of real archaeological sites, the meaning of a given object must be deciphered using the (written) clues it provides, revealing itself - if at all - only once all the parts of the puzzle have been found. In this case, those parts are eight verbs in the infinitive form that merge with the artefacts (that look not unlike prehistoric bone fossils). These words resulted from thinking about three decades of transformation. Stefan Schröder´s journal records the creative process and the concept of the work:
Framework for repressed collective subconscious / The objects in themselves are empty and meaningless / They are neither decorative nor intended as a monument / Only within the force field of their location do they become functioning modules which the viewer can mentally dock on to / Like brackets on scaffolding they hold together the collective legacy of the lignite mines / Also link contradictory processes / Human beings want to be warm, have a roof over their heads, food, a sense of community / To satisfy just one of these needs, whole landscapes are razed from the map: villages, houses, farms / Eradicated with a negative spiritual impact on the residents that is hard to quantify / "Handlungsspielraum" recalls the responsibility of the individual, but also of the community.

Stefan Schröder does not equate this spirit of responsibility with didactic finger-wagging. Instead, he enables visitors to reflect on it in a voluntary and tentative way, offering information on scattered supports. Viewed together, these fragments constitute something akin to a now largely unused but highly effective technique deployed by orators in the ancient world to memorize their speeches. They furnished the rooms of an imagined, virtual building with objects referring to specific ideas, which they could then "walk through" mentally as they spoke, summoning up the line of their argument as they went. Maybe this is also the function of the distributed memory model for active appropriation proposed by Stefan Schröder: the stones of the mental building have been broken down into modules, their serial character stimulating engagement with the lakeside location, with its past, present and future, via a markedly non-documentary and non-chronological approach.

Beyond deeper meanings and interpretations, the grey word-stones also have the potential to become points of reference on the beach: "Shall we meet tomorrow at the depart stone? Put your towel on fill in for me!" Although Stefan Schröder´s primary focus is not on the stones´ practical use value, this is a calculated factor, marking him out as an attentive observer of social mindsets. After all, the declared long-term emphasis here is on the future value of the site as a leisure destination. Counteracting the natural tendency of such visions to end in cheerful collective oblivion is one of the aims of "Handlungsspielraum".


B i o g r a p h y

1966 born in Dresden,

lives and works in Oslo and Dresden

1987 - 2000 Studied at: Dresden Academy of Fine Arts (D) and
Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten Breda (NL)
(Diploma & Master Class)

G r a n t s
2007, 06, 05, 04 Working grant, Billedkunstnernes Vederlagsfond, Norway
2005 Project grant, GfzK Leipzig
S o l o   E x h i b i t i o n s  (selection)
2006 Urban Collector, Galerie ROM, Oslo
2006 common alphabet, Galerie Tegnerforbundet Oslo
2005 Plagwitzer Sand, Bahnhof Leipzig-Plagwitz
2003 Das Feld, Skur 51, Bjórvika Oslo
1996 Das Feld, Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden
www.schroederstefan.com

 

discover

resettle

demolish

excavate

burn

fill in

remember

forget

deutsch  english
  Projektinformation Juliane Köhler Stefan Schröder   Kunstparcours/transNATURALE Impressum Anfahrt  


HANDLUNGSSPIELRAUM

Eine Arbeit von Stefan Schröder für den Bärwalder See

Was lässt sich einer so grandiosen Landschaft, wie sie am Bärwalder See entstanden ist, noch hinzufügen? Diese Frage muss sich jede/r KünstlerIn stellen, der/die hier einen schöpferischen Kommentar entwickelt. Sie stellte sich auch für Stefan Schröder und die Lösung konnte nichts mit einer unmittelbaren Reaktion auf die überwältigende Dimension der Tagebaufolgelandschaft inmitten der Lausitzer Natur zu tun haben. In diesem Bewusstsein konzentrierte sich Stefan Schröder konzeptuell auf jene Ereignisse, die mindestens seit Abbaubeginn in den 1970ern die Umgebung und das Leben der Bewohner bestimmten. Er nennt seine Arbeit "Handlungsspielraum" und weist in diesem Titel bereits auf die Begrenztheit desselben hin: für die Anwohner, die Veränderungen ihres Lebensraums weitgehend hinnehmen mussten und erst jetzt nach Beendigung der Kohleförderung wieder Handlungsfreiheit bekamen.

Statt einer monumentalen Setzung verbirgt sich Schröders Serie von riegelförmigen Betonkörpern im Uferbereich des Bärwalder Sees und markiert so eine Serie von Stationen, die gezielt oder per Zufall entdeckt werden. Die Rezeption des Kunstwerks vollzieht sich zwangsläufig als überraschende, schein-archäologische Expedition. Und wie bei tatsächlichen altertumswissenschaftlichen Fundorten, ist die Bedeutung des Objektes aus beigegebenen (Schrift)Zeichen zu entschlüsseln und enthüllt sich - wenn überhaupt - erst in der Kenntnis aller Puzzleteile. In diesem Falle handelt es sich um acht infinite Verbformen, die als Skulptur mit den - auch wie paläontologische Knochen anmutenden - Artefakten verschmelzen. Diese Worte sind Resultate des Nachdenkens über drei Jahrzehnte von Transformation. Stefan Schröders Arbeitstagebuch spiegelt den Entstehungsprozess und das Anliegen von "Handlungsspielraum":
Gerüst für das verdrängte kollektive Unterbewusstsein/ Die Objekte an sich sind leer und bedeutungslos/ Sie sind weder schmückend, noch wollen sie Denkmal sein/ Erst im Spannungsfeld des Ortes werden sie zu funktionierenden Modulen, an die der Betrachter mental andocken kann/ Wie Gerüstklammern halten sie das gemeinsame Erbe der Braunkohlefolgelandschaft zusammen/ verbinden auch einander widersprechende Handlungsabläufe/ Der Mensch will es warm haben, ein Dach über dem Kopf, zu essen und eine Gemeinschaft um sich/ Um nur ein einziges dieser Bedürfnisse einzulösen, werden ganze Landstriche: Dorf, Haus, Hof geschliffen/ Ausradiert mit nicht einzuschätzenden seelischen Verwüstungen bei den Bewohnern/ Handlungsspielraum erinnert an die Verantwortung des Einzelnen, aber auch der Gemeinschaft.

Diese Verantwortung anmahnende Geste freilich vollzieht Stefan Schröder nicht mit einem didaktischen Zeigefinger. Er ermöglicht die Reflektion darüber in freiwilliger und eher tastender Aneignung und bietet Informationen auf verstreuten Trägerelementen an. In der Zusammenschau gleichen diese Fragmente dann einem probaten, im digitalen Zeitalter weitgehend ungenutzten Mittel, mit dem antike Rhetoren ihre Reden memorierten. Sie möblierten ihre virtuellen Gedankengebäude mit gegenständlichen Hinweisen und durchwanderten während ihres Vortrags im Geiste diese Räume, sich Bild für Bild an ihr Konzept erinnernd. Vielleicht funktioniert so auch das begehbare Erinnerungsmodell für tätige Aneignung, das Stefan Schröder anbietet: Die Denksteine haben sich in Module aufgelöst und stimulieren gerade durch einen seriellen Anstoß die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Ort am See, seiner Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft in einer betont undokumentarischen und nicht-chronologischen Annäherung.

Darüber hinaus bieten die grauen Schriftträger - jenseits tiefer Exegesen - ausreichend Potenzial, am Strand zu Identifikationsorten zu werden: "Treffen wir uns morgen am abreisen-Stein? Leg dein Handtuch schon aufs auffüllen!" Wenn Stefan Schröder den möglichen Nutzwert der Riegel auch nicht in den Vordergrund stellt, kalkuliert er ihn doch mit ein und erweist sich auch darin als aufmerksamer Beobachter sozialer Klimata: Schließlich liegt die erklärte Perspektive des Areals in seinem künftigen Freizeitwert. Dass derlei Visionen nicht naturgemäß in frohsinnigem kollektiven Gedächtnisverlust münden, ist eines der Anliegen von "Handlungsspielraum".


B i o g r a p h i e

1966 geboren in Dresden,

lebt und arbeitet in Oslo und Dresden

1987 - 2000 Studium an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Dresden,
Academie voor Beeldende Kunsten Breda/Niederlande
(Diplom & Meisterschüler)

S t i p e n d i e n
2007, 06, 05, 04 Arbeitsstipendium, Billedkunstnernes Vederlagsfond, Norwegen
2005 Projektstipendium GfzK Leipzig
E i n z e l a u s s t e l l u n g e n (Auswahl)
2006 Urban Collector, Galerie ROM, Oslo
2006 common alphabet, Galerie Tegnerforbundet Oslo
2005 Plagwitzer Sand, Bahnhof Leipzig-Plagwitz
2003 Das Feld, Skur 51, Bjórvika Oslo
1996 Das Feld, Festspielhaus Hellerau, Dresden
www.schroederstefan.com

 

entdecken

umsiedeln

abreissen

ausgraben

verbrennen

auffüllen

erinnern

vergessen